princely states

Home / glossary / princely states

Princely states were those states which are not under the direct control of the British. Local rulers ruled the princely states and accepted the British suzerainty and had freedom in their internal matters. But the external (foreign) matters were handed over to the British. That means, they were indirectly controlled by the British. At the time of Independence, there were almost 565 princely states, and Kashmir is one among them.

Related Posts

Next Post

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.